Congregation of the Sisters of Mercy

Congregation of the Sisters of Mercy

Congregation of the Sisters of Mercy

Our Story

Our Story


We women of Mercy called and gifted by God and each other commit ourselves

  • to share our faith story
  • to reach out to one another in love
  • to hear the cry of those on the margins of life
  • to be open to journey with others in a reciprocal way.


Formation of the Province

The formation of four Provinces of Mercy Sisters in Ireland came about by a decision of the First Congregational Chapter in July 1994.

The Western Province was formed from seven of the original Diocesan units – Achonry, Ardagh and Clonmacnoise, Clonfert, Elphin, Galway, Killala and Tuam.

Since the first Provincial Chapter was not due to be held until the following year 1995 it was decided that the seven former Congregational Leaders would form the Interim Provincial Team.

The Interim Team had a two-fold task :

To be responsible for the ongoing life of the Province

To appoint and work with a task force who would prepare for the first
Provincial Chapter.

The Interim Provincial Team was also responsible for the urgent communication throughout the Province of the spirit and directives of the First Congregational Chapter.

After the first Provincial Chapter of 1995 the first Provincial Team of Sr. Caitlín Conneely (Provincial Leader), Sr. Elizabeth Manning (Assistant Provincial Leader), Sr. Mary Reynolds, Sr. Aine McGarty and Sr. Kathleen Glennon began their work in the Province.

Provincial Leadership Team

Front Left to Right: Srs. Anna Burke, Caitlin Conneely (Provincial Leader), Juliet Walsh
Back Left to Right: Srs. Mary Glynn, Breege Donohoe

Role of the Provincial Leadership team: To co-ordinate and take responsibility for Mercy Life and ministry within the Western Province.

Our special focus during our term of Leadership is the carrying forward of the recommendations of our International Congregational Chapter Document and our Provincial Chapter Document.

Our History

Diocese of Achonry | Ardagh & Clonmacnois | Clonfert Diocese | Diocese of Elphin | Diocese of Galway |Diocese of Killala | Archdiocese of Tuam

by continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information