# **Education In The Western Province**

# **Community Schools/Colleges:**

The first community school opened in Tallaght Village in 1972. Community Schools/ Colleges responded to the need to rationalise schools e.g. Secondary Schools and Vocational Schools in areas where numbers were low like many country areas, and on green field sites in urban areas like Tallaght. They provided a broad range of subjects and had counselling services and chaplaincy included.

### Clifden:

Clifden had two small secondary schools - girls in the secondary school run by the Sisters of Mercy, and boys in the secondary school run by the Franciscan Brothers. After much consultation, the decision to build a community school was taken on 18th December, 1972, and the first Board of Management was held on 17th May, 1973. The Foundation Stone was laid in 22nd, February 1974 and it opened in 1976. Galway VEC was one of the Trustees

**Cárna Scoil Phobail Mhic Dara** was founded in 1972 when the Girls' Secondary School and the Vocational School amalgamated.

**Ballyhaunis Community School** was founded in 1977 when the Mercy Secondary School, Vocational School and St. Patrick's College amalgamated.

**Ballinrobe Community School** was founded in 1990 after the Sacred Heart Secondary School, the Christian Brothers' School and the Vocational School amalgamated.

**Dunmore Community School** was founded in 1990 when Incarnate Word College and Saint Patrick's Vocational School amalgamated.

**Glenamaddy Community School**: founded in 2002 when Coláiste Seosaimh and St. Benin's Vocational School amalgamated.

**St. Mark's Community School, Springfield, Tallaght** was founded on a green field site in 1977 and the trustees were the Sisters of Mercy, Tuam Diocese, and Dublin VEC.

In September 2018, CEIST was authorised to carry out all the Trustee functions as outlined above. However, the appointment letter for Board of Management members and any legal document concerning the property will be signed, as heretofore, by the Provincial Leader

### Second Level School Trusts (Western Province)

In the late 1990's and at the beginning of the 21st century, it was obvious that Religious in Ireland would not be able to continue as trustees of Voluntary Secondary School and CORI Education Commission worked on an alternative model. This was a slow process, which involved canonical, legal and financial issues. In May 2007, following a lot of work at all levels, as well as an intercongregational process, the Secondary Schools in the Tuam Diocese, were handed on to CEIST. The Province paid  $\epsilon$ 2.6 million to support CEIST. The Secondary School properties were to be handed over to EDUCENA – the property holding company of CEIST, and that process is still ongoing.

#### **Trusteeship of Secondary Schools to CEIST:**

**Properties to EDUCENA** 

Claremorris2007Louisburgh2007Westport2007Castlebar2007Tuam2007

Deed of Transfer 2011 Deed of Transfer 2011 Deed of Transfer 2011 To be transferred To be transferred

Glenamaddy – School/Convent and 7 acres for New Community School as part of *Redress* properties.

# **Transfer of Primary Schools**

In the amalgamation of primary schools, the new schools became Parish schools and trusteeship has been transferred to the Bishop/Parish. Property was transferred as follows:

Property	
Ballinrobe	New school is built on the Mercy site
Ballyhaunis	New site, School to Mayo County Council, (Voluntary Contribution)
	Land to St. Jarlath's Trust (Voluntary Contribution)
Claremorris	School transferred to Diocese
Carna	School transferred
Castlebar	Transfer in process
Clifden	School transferred to Diocese
Tuam	Transfer to Diocese in process.
	The closed Junior School donated to Vincent de Paul (vol. con)
Westport	Property and school transferred to DEIS (voluntary contribution)