Ballyhaunis, Co Mayo

The first Mayo *Feis* was held by the Gaelic League in the Convent School and among the notabilities who attended and were entertained in the New Convent were Pádraig Mac Piarais and Dubhghlas de hÍde. A Secondary Top was begun in the school and it was replaced by a fully recognised Secondary School.

In 1977, Ballyhaunis post-primary schools amalgamated to form one of the earliest community schools in the country. St. Joseph's Primary School amalgamated with St. Mary's Boys' School in 2001. The school operated on two sites until the new school, *Scoil Íosa*, was built and opened in August 2012. As part of the Voluntary Contribution following the Ryan Report, Ballyhaunis Primary School land was donated to St. Jarlath's Diocesan Trust for a playing pitch and the Girls' Primary School to Mayo County Council for a proposed library.

Ballyhaunis Convent was vacated in August 1995 and Srs. Dympna Mooney, Paschal Newell and Magdalen Quinn moved to Cuan Chaitríona in Castlebar. Srs. Maura Callaghan, Evelyn Fahy, Teresa Fahy, Treasa Joyce, Eithne Nolan, Rosario Waldron, and Assumpta Flannery moved to Hazel Hill in Ballyhaunis. Sr. Rosario Waldron was the last Sister to leave Ballyhaunis in July 2015 and the house was sold in May 2016.