## Elections

Sr. Phyllis Surlis was elected in 1980 and she was re-elected in 1986. Sr. Martina Barrett was elected in 1992. Numbers entering convents diminished throughout Ireland and further afield. Discussions took place considering union of the Sisters of Mercy in Ireland and South Africa as a necessary option in keeping with developing trends. The first Congregational Chapter took place in 1994, with consequent loss of Diocesan autonomy. Joining the new configuration was voluntary. Ireland was divided into four provinces, with Killala Diocese happily belonging to the Western Province: there were three further provinces in South Africa, Kenya, and the USA. Necessary re-structuring in the Western Province took place for varying reasons, during the following years.